Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Apr 30, 2007, 2:09 PM   #1

Dear Friends and seniors

I have been using my z612 for the last 1 1/2 months and I feel that I have a need for more zoom power to reach those far away birds which are presently beyond the reach of the lens of the z612.

I did an online research about the various teleconverters available today in the market for my camera and I think that the list below is all that is there to teleconverters for the z612

Raynox DCR-2020PRO 2.2x (available second hand for $100)
Raynox 1.5x (available second hand for $100)
Olympus TCON-17 not available
Olympus TCON-14B (available new for $80)
Nikon TC-E15ED 1.5x not available
Sony VCL-HGD1758 not available
KODAK 1.4x not available

***not available in India***

While it a matter of common sense that I should be going for the kodak 1.4x teleconverter (which matches the optics of my camera) and should give the best results , however I am very confused about making this purchase.

The primary reason being my location (India) where it is very difficult to obtain teleconverters for non -SLR cameras . Second reason being my budget ( max $ 100) ; and third reason being my requirement for maximum zoom .

I have several queries to ask of you .

1] Are there any other teleconverters that should be there on my list ?

2] If given a choice between a Raynox DCR-2020PRO 2.2x and a Raynox 1.5x which one should I go for that will give me best results with my z612 ?

3] If given a choice between a Raynox ( 2.2x or 1.5x) and an Olympus TCON-17 which one should I go for ?

4] What is the difference, between the Olympus TCON-17 and Olympus TCON-14B and which one is better for the z612 ?

5] How is the performance of the z612 with these teleconverters ?