Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Aug 7, 2003, 5:38 AM   #1
Default 0.8x , 0.7x, or 0.45x Wide Angle Lense ?!!!

I am new to the lenses world :shock: , So forgive me for this silly question ops:

I have Olympus C-3000 Zoom Digital Camera.

When I tried to buy a Wide Angle lense for it, I've got lost :roll:

I've found 0.8x, 0.7x, and 0.45x
Which one is better :?: (i.e. which will give me wider angle)
What these x number means :?:
Is it better to have small or big x numers :?:

Thanks so much for your help
snaafi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 7, 2003, 7:10 AM   #2

The magnification factor tells you what to multiply the widest 35mm equivalent of your lens to get the resulting wide angle lens specs. For example, on my 38-380 zoom lens, a .8x wide angle converter would give you the equivalent to a 38x.8, or 30.4mm wide angle view. The lower the number, the wider the view.

There is a trade-off in quality of the images you can achieve with different wide angle converters. The wider the view, the more parallax distortion (straight objects appear curved), vignetting (the view is so wide you can see the edges of the end of the lens), and sharpness. For example, I tried out a .5x converter (38x.5=19mm), and was displeased with the fact that ever shot had strong corner vignetting and the focus was too soft for my taste. However, I was able to get an entire 12x12 room in the picture when standing in the corner.

My experience has been that anything wider than 28mm will give you noticeable parallax distortion. The WCON-08E is what I have, and it gives excellent sharpness, no vignetting, and no discernible parallax distortion. Consider also that you will probably need an adapter to match the thread diameter of your camera to that of the specific lens. Mine takes a 49-55mm step-up ring.