Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Jul 25, 2009, 6:11 PM   #1

Default Five Star 500mm lens

My father purchased a Five Star 500mm lens at a garage sale for $5 today. I've done a little research on the lens but can't find anything REALLY helpful. I am hoping I can adapt this lens to my Nikon D70. I would like info an adapters and settings to help me get the best images from this lens if at all possible. I would love to do some nice lunar pics and possibly some nature photography with this lens. Any recommendations, advice, and overall knowledge about this possible combination would be very useful. Thanks!

P.S. I am NOT a professional and it has been some time since something has piqued my interest in photography. I am not looking to make any money from it, but I would like to produce something nice to share with family and friends. However, if it's not a good lens, please do not hesitate to tell me. If it seems something I could reasonably work with, let me know!
Silva_onyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 25, 2009, 7:58 PM   #2

It might be a T-Mount lens, meaning that it has a removeable lens mount so it can be attached to any SLR or dSLR with an appropriate T-Mount adapter.

Can you take some photos of the lens and post them here?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2009, 6:55 AM   #3
Administrator

If it is a T-Mount, you can get an adapter, as mentioned by TCav. Here's an example:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...a_Adapter.html

But, your Nikon D70's meter won't work with non-CPU lenses.

So, you'd need to use manual exposure and estimate the ISO speed and Shutter speed needed for proper exposure without a meter to help out (i.e., take test shots to get it right).
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2009, 7:54 AM   #4