Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Nov 25, 2004, 2:33 PM   #1

I'm thinking of buying Minolta Dynax 7d (maxxum), and haven't got any SLR equipment, I've owned Dimage 7Hi before.
Now here's my question.. at beachcamera.com, they suggest four different tamron lenses to go with the camera.. whitch one do you suggest, and why? The one that seems to be the best seems to me to be "TAMRON AF 28-300MM F/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD FOR MINOLTA MAXXUM" for 379$. But is it really so? And is it worth the money, or should I buy something less expensive? Or do you suggest something completely else?
Is Tamron a "respected" company, do they make good lenses? Are lenses with such a big zooming range as this one (28-300) any good or do you think one should go in smaller steps? I'd like to have something that could zoom as much (or more) as the Dimage 7Hi could... I'm a student and haven't got the money to buy the really great lenses, and therefore I need an "allround" lens that I could use on most occasions.

Second question... the memory card suggested, is it any good? "HIGH-SPEED 1GB COMPACT FLASH MEMORY CARD" for 89$. Do you think one should buy any special kind of memory-card? is an Ultra II compact flash card better?

Check out the link below to see what I mean...

Anyone got any other suggestions where to buy the camera on the net for less money

I'd be more than glad for your help!!
RobertSwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 26, 2004, 9:57 AM   #2

The lens you're looking at is considered sub-average.

Also, you may want to consider shopping around at different vendors. Although Beach Camera has a good reputation for camera prices, they are a bit high on the extras (memory cards, etc.). You're also not saving anything on this camera with them (almost everyone is selling itfor the same price now). The "High Speed" CompactFlash Card you're looking at there is likely very slow by today's standards.