Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Nov 30, 2005, 1:51 AM   #1

Need help figuring out which lens/filter brand names are trustworthy and are of better quality. I'm fairly new to all these choices of extras to bu with a digital camera. I had a set of filters for my old Sony Mavica but don't know what to buy or what to stay away from with my new Fuji FinePix s5200...it has a 55mm thread on the lens. This camera is a whole world apart from my little floppy diskette camera.

I know I need a good UV filter and a good set of Close-Up/Macro lenses...but I'm not sure who is a good quality brand. I've heard about TIFFEN, HOYA, QUANTARAY, SONIA, DEK, and a few others.

Which brands are good, which to stay away from???

Any opinions, advice is helpful.
dewaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 30, 2005, 4:04 PM   #2

I'm expecting my new S5200 on Friday the 2nd and was wondering the same thing.

Any advice would be appreciated.
onefastseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2005, 6:34 PM   #3

I asked the same question on another digital camera forum site and someone said to "avoid" TIFFEN brand for some reason. I've heard they're good...but I asked them to elaborate. I have heard HOYA is a really good brand to use. But Ritz/Wolf Camera sells Quantaray lenses (they're local and close to me).

Anyone feel postive/negative about QUANTARAY lenses???
Old Nov 30, 2005, 6:46 PM   #4

I saw a website once that ranked about ten different brands of filters by quality, but I don't remember what the address was.
A Google safari on filters would yield a wealth of info'.
Generally, though, brands with a rep' for high quality include B+W, Heliopan, Nikon and Hoya.