Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Dec 26, 2005, 8:17 PM   #1

I'm fairly new to the add-on lenses, but have been reading up on it a bit in the past week or so. I recently purchased an a610 and really like it, but would like a telephoto lens for the occasional outdoor full-zoomed shots.

Canon's adaptor ring they offer for the a610 uses a 58mm thread, but I ordered a third-party adaptor using the 52mm thread because it seems to be a more common lens size.

My main question is, will I suffer any substantial quality loss with a 52mm lens (such as the TC-DC52) or should I opt for canon's suggestion and choose a 1.75x with a 58mm adaptor?

From what I understand thus far, the auxillary telephoto lenses are really only good in full-zoom mode; that's fine with me. I'm looking for a decent quality lens without spending more than $130 or so with (hopefully) 2-3x magnification. 52mm thread size would be preferred, but if I have to go with 58mm feel free to suggest lenses in that range as well.

I'm most concerned about chromatic aberration. Barrel distortion seems to be most prevalent on macro shots with the a610, but again, I'm still pretty new to this

So in summary, can anyone see a reason not to choose the TC-DC52 lens? Any suggestions otherwise, possibly with a tad larger zoom in the same price range?

*edit* forgot to mention, if you know of a quality tele with a larger than 3x zoom in my price range feel free to suggest it as well. Don't expect to see any results under this one, but you never know

Thanks in advance
snow veil is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 15, 2006, 1:29 PM   #2

Well, I decided to go for it. Unfortunately, the distortion created by this lens and this camera combination is unbearable :-/

Guess I'll try to search around for a different lens, possibly one with a lower magnification.