Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Batteries or Power Packs

Old Aug 2, 2003, 8:25 PM   #1
Default Lithium ion versus NiMH

Any battery experts out there?

I get all mixed up from the explanations in the stores (and I'm not sure the salespeople know what they're talking about half the time). My question is: what is the longest lasting type of battery? I have a Kodak DC4800 with a Li-ion battery now and I'm thinking of getting a new camera so the battery issue looms once again. I tend to use the LCD screen a lot (I'm a teacher and I use it in the classroom), which runs the battery down. Also, is it fine to plug in the AC adapter to recharge the camera overnight really reduce the battery's capacity? I've heard some people say it does (for example on my cordles phone) and others have said it doesn't (the cell phone salesman). So who knows. Hopefully, one of you will.

Nameeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 3, 2003, 2:18 PM   #2

Your Kodak 4800 takes a lithium ion battery, not AA nimh's. So you cannot use the AA nimh in your camera.
Lithium ion batteries last longer anyway. The plus side of AA nimh batteries is their ease of availability and low cost vs. lithium ion.
As for charging your lithium ion battery in your camera that will not hurt it one bit, that is the way Kodak DESIGNED for your particular battery and camera.

Go here and read more about it.

Good Day,
Steven H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2003, 9:26 PM   #3
Default Re: Lithium ion versus NiMH

Originally Posted by Nameeta
My question is: what is the longest lasting type of battery?

Also, is it fine to plug in the AC adapter to recharge the camera overnight really reduce the battery's capacity?