Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Batteries or Power Packs

Old Sep 12, 2005, 3:13 PM   #1

I am new to the digital camera world and will be purchasing one very soon. I have been doing my fair share of research but the one question I still don't have an answer to is should I get a camera that I can use AA batteries for or a camera that I can recharge? I will be going on a 6 month backpacking trip where the first 6 weeks I will be in Africa camping out most nights. The second 6 weeks I will be in asia and feel I will have access to an outlet but am skeptical about aftrica. Does anyone have any thoughts? The last thing I want to have happen is I am in the congo, see the most beautiful animal or waterfall and I don't have any battery life left. Also, while doing my research it seems the most cameras do not offer the options of AA batteries, only sony. Am I right about this?

koconn08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 13, 2005, 10:04 PM   #2

li ion batteries hold a charge a long time and most of the better cameras use them. they can be charged with ac adapters as well as a 12 volt dc source such as car or truck battery w/ cigarett lighter accessory.

AA powerd cameras tend to be on the lower end of the quality spectrum for digitals, though someone may point out a good choice in this catagory. Of course AA batteries are probubly available worldwide. they also dont last long, my daughters AA powered HP camera only gets about 20 pics to a set of new duracells. though it can put out 100 or so with nimh aa rechagables. you still end up needing a charger.

if u can recharge. id go with a better camera and bring a few extra charged packs with you. most of these cameras using Li ion technology can shoot a couple hundred pics on a charge. add a couple spare charged packs and you will probubly run out of memory / cf cards whatever to keep the pics on. not to mention theres dc charge cords available.
Drew is offline   Reply With Quote