Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Biweekly Shoot Out

Old Jul 19, 2007, 9:33 AM   #1

A couple shots of the Gf whilst out the other day.
Attached Images

Dr. Mr. Vandertramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 19, 2007, 9:34 AM   #2

Her getting bored with my intrusive cameraing.
Attached Images

Old Jul 19, 2007, 11:12 AM   #3

I am no expert in portrait photography but I have learned a bit over the years. In the first shot, it appears that you used fill flash or a reflector to add light to the face. Unfortunately, the little patch of sunlight and shadows is very distracting. Using something to block the direct sun and relying on a reflector for facial lighting would be better.

I like the second shot better mainly because it has a mysterious air to it. It is a bit dark. I can't tell from the background whether direct sunlight was available. If so, a reflector to add light to the face would help or fill flash on a -2.0 ev compensation setting. It doesn't need much, just a bit of highlighting.

"Cameraing" is a new one on me. The Scrabble game on my Palm PDA would probably like it! It comes up with all kinds of variations on common words. However, you probably won't find it in Webster!!

Cal
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2007, 10:38 PM   #4

Vandertramps,

I agree with Cal about the distraction of the shadows but I've found fill flash to be dicey at best with the digital cameras I've used. Aside from the harshness issue, I have not even found them to be reliable in filling in properly. (A,ong brands used, Olympus, Canon point and Shoots, Minoltas, Sony dSLR, Nikons, and Fuji)

Aloha and thanks for submitting.
selvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2007, 11:22 PM   #5