Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Biweekly Shoot Out

Old Feb 24, 2008, 1:35 AM   #1

This is my first time participating in the shootout. Portraits aren't my strong suit but I thought I'd give it a go as the weather is horrible. This is the wife shot by window light and a little fill flash.
Attached Images

goomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 24, 2008, 1:36 AM   #2

original
Attached Images

Old Feb 24, 2008, 4:32 AM   #3

Am in a hurry, just a short note - original is much better composition-wise than the crop to my mind!

thkn777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 6:49 AM   #4

I too prefer the original shot. The close up crop shows the flaws in your focusing. But you have such a beautiful subject, it hardly matters much. Lucky guy.
Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 10:10 AM   #5

Bynx wrote:
Quote:
I too prefer the original shot. The close up crop shows the flaws in your focusing. But you have such a beautiful subject, it hardly matters much. Lucky guy.

Hello Bynx,
DOF is fine to my mind, I am somewhat puzzled by the blurry look of the eyes... no idea where this comes from. If you inspect the photo you'll notice, that the right eye has quite sharp eyelashes, also you can find very detailed hair (left ear) which appears to be sharp and within DOF range. And the earring! Sharp as can be! On the other hand the tip of her nose and her mouth seem to be in DOF range too. So why the left eye looks blurry? I am clueless.

A guess - maybe we see strong JPEG compression/artifacts? Or maybe we see the slightest eye movement here?

@goomer
Can you post a high quality JPEG please? 100% or at least better than 95%? Also it would be nice if you could post the camera settings for that shot.

A very strong sharpen/refocus attempt gave me this: