Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Biweekly Shoot Out

Old May 5, 2008, 2:04 PM   #1

I found these at the side of a small canal - I bet these are/were used to tie up boats/ships, but I am no expert to say exactly.

#2 - the whole thing

Maybe I am stretching things a bit, but it is outside, round, man-made and included in the picture of that block of concrete... :blah:so it's at least worth a try!

Regards,
Th.

thkn777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 5, 2008, 2:22 PM   #2

OK, you have two photos of some rusty old rings attached to a concrete structure. If the ring is your aperture, the only possible subject is the concrete behind it. Now let me ask, if the ring was not there, would you photograph the concrete? Think about it.

Cal

calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 3:57 PM   #3

calr wrote:
Quote:
...Now let me ask, if the ring was not there, would you photograph the concrete?...
Yes, in the case of #1, but I'd be closer so that the ring filled the frame, on the grounds of the fascinating texture of the bits embedded in the matrix, which must have a geological story to tell.

Alternatively, the photographer's (or someone else's) foot has a story to tell too in a somewhat surreal abstract image.

This is a somewhat contrived challenge, Cal, so you must expect some imaginative surprises! Everyone's outside looking for a curvedaperture, and when they've found one, they won't betoo bothered what's inside it.

Suggestion!...

Why don't you leave this 'challenge' running concurrently for a while with the nextand subsequent ones, so that when people find something that really will turn you on, they could post it? Doing that will exercise many clever minds and my own increasingly feeble one for a long time. It's a good challenge, but it ain't half hard. I was astonished I got what I did, and neither of my efforts were technically correct.
Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2008, 1:21 PM   #4