Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Biweekly Shoot Out

Old Jun 27, 2008, 2:20 AM   #1

This is another shot, in context, of the pylon I showed you yesterday, with an intriguing piece of additional scenery. I've been driving past this windmill tower for 25 years. I can't quite remember whether the derelict farm windpump remains were always on top of it, or whether it was alongside it, and it has been remounted. In the last year or two, the tower has been refurbished as a part of a rather upmarket dwelling.

I've never seen the blades rotating, so I fear it's just for show. I notice that it doesn't look very well affixed to the roof, with one leg, or the crankshaft unconnected. However, it would clearly be a prime location for a wind turbogenerator. Modest government subsidies are available here for domestic ones, but sadly we have no viable 'feed-in' tariff to sell the surplus energy, as they have in Germany, for example.

I expect the locals knew it was a good place for wind power hundreds of years ago. This is not as irrelevant as you think because....
Attached Images

Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 27, 2008, 2:25 AM   #2

... this is the nearest I could legally get to the "The Railway Age", the museum I mentioned earlier. Though it's a messy shot, I like the green patina on the copper busbar along the top, and the patterns. (Many train delays here are due to 'signal failure', often caused by theft of copper signalling cable to meet escalating world demand for the metal.) In the museum yard a few elderly locomotives are visible.