Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Biweekly Shoot Out

Old Nov 4, 2008, 7:59 AM   #1

From my archive.

vsch1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 4, 2008, 11:05 AM   #2

I hope you don't mind me commenting. Just finally a topic about which I have some experience to share :G

Exposure and focus both look pretty good - not an easy thing to accomplish in indoor sports. So great job there.

The challend is the composition / timing. The tough part is having an interesting subject for a sports photo. Typically one of three things makes a typical sports photo compelling: Expression, peak action or environmental.

Expression refers to the emotional expression upon the subject's face. Whether it's concentration, a Jordan-esque tongue sticking out, pain or exhertion it's that emotional content that draws the viewer into the athlete.

Peak action - This is the more common type of sports photo - in hockey it would be a slap/shot or impact of bodies against the glass - something that captures the 'moment'.

Environmental - some shots are just amazing because of the surroundings. I remember a shot of winder olympics of a skier in the air - but the backdrop of the city below in the distance was what made that shot truly amazing. The crowd going crazy after a touchdown or homerun - a sea of humanity reacting to the thrill of the moment you captured in the foreground. For most of us, we don't get back-drops like this so it's rare to get a shot in this category.

For the hockey shot I think it would be beneficial to the shot to have the puck visible (I can guess where it's at, but not the same thing). And, if possible a little more peak action. If you can't get peak, then get tight on a single player and get expressions.

But I don't want to underplay the importance of the technical things you've done well - exposure, sharpness, focus. All very good!
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2008, 4:07 PM   #3