Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Biweekly Shoot Out

Old Jun 1, 2004, 8:24 PM   #1

Hi - I'm new to Steve's forums (but a longtime visitor to Steve's very informative site) and I think I'll start off here by posting this macro shot of dew collected on the petals of a red rose in my backyard:

Picture was cropped and a touch of USM applied in PSE2.

Geoff Shapiro

geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 1, 2004, 8:57 PM   #2

Wowza, thats a gorgeous one! You've got some talent and you use it well! Great shot, the dew adds an almost innocent touch to the flower which I love!

And welcome to the boards!
Jenni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2004, 9:25 PM   #3

Thanks for the kind words, Jenni. I think I have some innate photographic talents (my dad composed great shots with his old Rolliflex and heredity must count for something) but I've never developed it into anything more than a hobby. A professional I am not :-(

And, yes, I thought the dew is what made an otherwise ordinary, yet again, rose picture into something more.

(I just ordered a Canon i9900 - think this one might look nice printed out on that baby in large format?)

Regards,
Geoff
Old Jun 1, 2004, 10:35 PM   #4

WOWZAH! That's flippin amazin! It's so sharp, and is that dew real or did you use a spritzer? That's so good! One of the things that you love to find in nature, but seem to never have a camera when the opportunity comes along. Luckily you did! Thats'a an amazing picture! It would be a wonderful background to your desktop! You've got pure t-a-l-e-n-t, my friend!
discodudette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2004, 10:46 PM   #5

Discodudette, you are just toooo kind! All of those superlatives are making me blush and I don't think that I deserve them :-(

Those dewdrops are the real thing - no spritzer involved at all. I'm much too lazy to setup a shot so methodically :-)