Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Biweekly Shoot Out

Old Oct 15, 2005, 10:31 AM   #1

Hey folks;

I don't know if this qualifies here or not. For one thing, it's a film image, shot with a 70s model OM1. The filmwaspretty poor and the scan is the standard Wal-mart quality...

Anyway... I'm very passionate about a number of things, and this shot ties some of them together. Firstly, I am a musician and educator, hence the sound console in my music room. Secondly, another great passion of mine is photography - no surprise there as that is what brings up together here. For me a lot of the pleasure is the physical sensation of handling the camera, exploring the space, and finding the zone that makes a shot feel right. It's the feeling of my fingers on the lenses,dials and buttons, and it's the feel and the sound of the shutter capturing the moment. (By the way, the OM1 isa fantastic camera for this... nothing automatic, and it kicks like a shotgun)

I apologize for the scan quality... it's a little more grainy than I would have liked.

Cheers,

Tom, on Point Pelee, Canada
http://tomoverton.myphotoalbum.com

Attached Images

Tom Overton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 15, 2005, 10:41 AM   #2

Tom

A soothing shot for this savage beast. Only thing missing is a Rachmaninov (sp?) sound track. Interesting stance you took to make this photo. Thanks for sharing.

Walter
Walter C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 11:59 AM   #3

Tom,

Your passion shines thru. No need to apologize about the Wal-Mart quality scan, I think we've all been there and have been the recepient of marginal quality work.

Love the added touch of the reflection.

Aloha
selvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 12:25 PM   #4

Nice posting indeed! Your description is perfect in that it ties in your passions together. Gee......how did I know it would be music??