Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Feb 5, 2007, 9:34 PM   #1

Hey everyone, I almost hate to type this email up here because I have read about it so many times on other forums. However, from reading around here, everyone seems to be a lot more civil to one another and a lot more helpful when questions are asked. I have been reading about this a lot on dpreview.com and all those people do is argue against each other and never really help the original poster.

Here is my situation. I have only shot P&S in the past. I am used to having a camera in full auto mode to take snap shots and have them turn out great. This is my first dSLR and also my first SLR for that matter. I have an XTi. I know that the reason for an SLR is much different than for a P&S, which is why I bought the camera. I admit I'm a newbie to this (SLR)and I want to learn as I love photography and would one day enjoy doing it as a profession.

When taking pics with the XTi in full auto mode and using the Kit 18-55 EFS lens, my pictures often times come out under exposed. (Visually and also according to the histogram) I began researching online and found out that many people are having this same complaint. It seems like in the beginning the respones were (You just don't know how to use the camera, change the settings to this and then try again) . Now from very recent postings, people have been sending their camera into Canon to have the problem corrected. When their cameras come back, theirimages aremuch better exposed.

My experience is that my camera only seems to underexpose when using the kit lens. It could happen other times, and that is whyI want some suggestions on different things that I can try to "prove" if the cam does have a problem, or if its OK. The only other lens that I have to use is a Canon EF 28-80/3.5-5.6 II . When shooting the same subject with that lens, the images come out better exposed.