Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 24, 2003, 4:34 PM   #1
Default two questions

i am new at digital and have two questions, im sure this has been ask a 100 times but its new to me. is there a problem with the canon 10d concerning focusing issues or is it the person behind the camera. also when do you think canon will come out with a new camera with more mp like maybe a 8 or above mp. thanks for any and all replies.
bobby jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 24, 2003, 11:11 PM   #2

I'll answer them in reverse order.

I'm sure that Canon is working on another camera, but I wouldn't be surprised if they would wait a bit to for Nikon to blink first an release their D2X. The 10D is selling really well, so why not improve their next offering a bit and see what Nikon is going to offer?

Focusing issue. Yes, the issues are real. It can be in the user, the camera or the lens (or any combination there in.) This has been discussed in detail in this section of the forum, so search around. Here is the short description.

The 10D is not as precise at focusing as the more expensive 1D or 1Ds. You get what you pay for. If I recall correctly, it only guaranties that the AF point will be in the DOF. Anywhere in it. So it could be right at the edge and be valid, this means that if you focus on a personís neck, their nose could be out of focus. The same applies the other way. Focus on their face in an angled profile and their back shoulder is out of focus. This is within the design specs of the camera.

Many people are used to consumer grade digital cameras and then jump up to the 10D because of price. But they aren't ready for the much smaller DOF the 10D has. This makes them think more should be in focus that really is.

Human error:
They set focus lock on something and then reframe. But they donít realize that the smaller DOF means that their subject is now out of the DOF.