Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 3, 2007, 12:47 PM   #1

Just need advice on how good this lens is?

"Sigma AF 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Marco"

I'm using a Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi / 400D. Normally shooting preschool children / a bit of portraits / sometimes landscapes / other normal kind of stuff.

If anybody has got this lens I hope you can share your experiences with me.

Also anyone has a better suggestion please feel free to suggest as I am a newbie to dSLR Photography and only have my kit lens (Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6) and also as usual for newbies (a very LOW budget).. hahah...

Thanks for reading.
hazmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 3, 2007, 9:41 PM   #2

it is a very good lens and you will be happy with it. i had it and i sold it to get the 17-55 which is big bucks. if you don't want to go that route get the sigma. a friend of mine bought my 17-70 and he thanks me everytime he sees me. you will love the range and the picture quality is very good. good luck and good shooting.
camerageak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2007, 9:47 AM   #3

I've had that lens fora little over half a year and am very happy with it.I use itwith a 30D and itis a very sharp and fastlens for the price. I have gotten the best results in the f8-14 range with it. The AF is quiet and fast.The lens also does a pretty good job at macro.

I'm sure if you go this route you will be more than pleased

Mugmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2007, 6:37 PM   #4
Super Moderator

I've had this lens twice, once when using a Konica Minolta (now Sony) 5D and when I switched to a Canon 30D it was the first lens I got. It is a great compromise lens at a good price, wider than normal aperture, good range of focal length, resolution, AF speed, macro (although it is not stated you can almost focus onto the front filter!!) hmmmm have I missed anything?