Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 18, 2007, 12:29 AM   #1

Well I have some experience and knowledge in photography but not an expert.

I bought this camera (Canon XTI) because is a big seller and a good brand.

The problem was that all photos were somehow underexposure and grainy.Some shoots were in auto. I switch to P were I can adjust my settings and obtain more flash power. This way the pictures was more bright but I can't adjust the flash to every photo taken. BarelyI haven't time to take a candid shoot... imagine adjusting the flash!!

Also the ISO won't work in "auto" when I leave the auto mode. So also is necessary to adjust the ISO.

Generally I didn't like the photo quality at all; its not what I imagined from acamera like this could do. My expectatives was high.

I have an oldSony V1 cam with an external flash and this camera produce a very sharp well lighted photos. Awesome photos. Some people say that the pictures are better than others professional pictures. (can't believe)

I also have a Canon A-640 and the pictures are good but not as neat as the Sony V1. I'm seen the pictures in a good resolution PC monitor; not in the camera VF.

Also when taking pictures with xti, I have to wait if I shoot more than 2 or 3 pictures continuosly... (memory was aSan Disk 1gig) It said "busy..."

Finally I returned the camera and thanks God there was not a re-stocking fee. But where in the store I saw a Sony Alfa 100. I was tented to trade it for the Canon but I don't know this kind of camera and first I have to be sure is as good or lot better than my old V1. A friend insisted me to buy the Nikon D40... but again I'm full of doubts now. I have read about the Nikon D40 lens focus issues (the motor in the lenses). Also about the ISO has to be adjusted thru the menu; not a special button like the Canon.