Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 28, 2009, 9:28 AM   #1

I am a beginner to DSLR photography....ofcourse i spent some time before with my olympus p&s for about 3 yrs now....
I purchased a canon rebel XS with 75-300mm III lens (combo deal) for 500$. I had Rebel Xsi in mind but went with Xs as I was getting this 75-300 mm zoom lens as well for about 150$ less than XSi....i purchased the canon 50mm f1.8 II lens with the money i saved...donno if it was a good choice......

I am fascinated abt the blur effect in the photographs...I use the 50mm f1.8 often for that reason...

my question is: Is rebel XSi better then XS with the 50mm f1.8 lens. I thought both xsi and xs were similar but for the 12 mp and 10 mp difference and the 9 point AF vs 7 point AutoFocussing in xs...but I am now told by my friend (who has an XSi) that XSi has a better focussing system with fast lens ... he showed me the line in the xsi specification missing in the rebel xs spec...

• 1 cross-type - F2.8 in rebel XSi
• 1 cross-type - F5.6 in rebel XS

Can anyboody throw more light on this pls? Was my thinking correct when I purchased Rebel Xs or should I have opted for XSi?

sreenu530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2009, 11:54 AM   #2

Canon does a poor job of explaining this. Both the XS and XSi have a cross type sensor at the center focus point. That cross-type behavior will be available on both cameras for all f5.6 or better lenses (note: if the lens isn't f5.6 or better the camera won't auto-focus anyway - ignore zoom lenses that are rated at 6.3 it will focus with them too).

What the XSi has that the XS does not is the additional high precision center point. That means the focus tolerance is tighter on the XSi when using an f2.8or better lens.