Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 11, 2009, 2:22 PM   #1
Default Need advice for new DSLR and Lens for Costa Rica

Hello, I'm gonna be studying abroad in Costa Rica this spring.

I've wanted to buy a DSLR for a while now and I've decided I should get one now so I can get practice in before I go to Costa Rica.

I wanted the Canon Rebel T1i because it has video, but the price is pretty constricting. I'm a student, so a T1i with cashback + a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 is probably the best I can afford, which comes out to about $900. I would need to scrounge up some money to buy flash and a backpack and stuff too.

Well I've been doing a lot of research, and from what I've gathered, for a rainforest I need a low f-number around 2.8?

I found a deal on craigslist for a used Canon 20D and a Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 for $600. This is a big difference in price and would allow me to buy another lens or a speedlite.

The question is, should I go for the used 20D or for the T1i? People say that it's the lens/photographer that makes the pictures, but is a 20D worth roughly $300?

And I would like some lens suggestions. I'm gonna be at the Monteverde research facility in Costa Rica and I will be in and out of the cloud forest, the rainforest, the beach, and the city. I'm looking to photograph people, food, scenery, and hopefully animals. I've heard that I need a telephoto with a low f-number but I can't afford anything like that. Some people also said I could get a macro lens but I'm not really looking to be switching lens all that often when I'm in a forest with a group of people.

Also, a lot of people say that the 20D weighs significantly more than T1i and it might not be a good walk-around camera? Does the weight really make that big of a difference? I probably won't have a tripod but that could change.
vietiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 16, 2009, 12:10 AM   #2