Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 24, 2010, 9:06 PM   #1

Default Rebel XT?

Wanted to know what you guy think about the Canon Rebel XT, I have a Nikon P90 at the moment and found this Canon for $250/obo. Is the Canon hard to learn, I am still kinda new to photography but really wanting to get into it a lot more. Thanks for the help everyone!
Old Jun 24, 2010, 9:17 PM   #2

Buying a used dSLR, especially from someone you don't know, is a big gamble. You don't know how much use and abuse it's had.

Adorama sells a factory refurbished Canon XS with the stabilized kit lens, and a 1 year guarantee, for $390. I'd call $250 for an XT with no warranty, a little pricey.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 9:24 PM   #3

Oooh, thank you for letting me know, I have no clue about dSLR's at all. And I knew if I came here people would give me some great honest answers!
Old Jun 24, 2010, 9:30 PM   #4

dSLRs have a lot more moving parts than other types of cameras, and the reliability of those components is always a concern. That XT may be in perfect condition,and may serve you well for years to come. But there's no way to know that ahead of time, and that's a big gamble.

In addition, when you buy a dSLR, you're making a committment to a photographic system. If you buy a used camera body, and then you buy lenses and other accessories for it, what will you do if the camera fails? You're stuck with all that other stuff, so you have to buy another body that it will fit , or you'll have to sell all your other stuff and start from scratch. It can be a real headache.
Old Jun 24, 2010, 9:41 PM   #5

Very true, I thought it may be in good condition since a military person is selling it here on base. But some people like that can always trick you too. Thank you for your help and I will keep everything you say in mind when looking for one. Do you have a suggestion on a good newbie dSLR by any chance?