Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Apr 23, 2011, 9:33 PM   #1
Default EOS 60D autofocus mode question, etc.

I'm a DSLR rookie and will be taking along my 60D on a guided birdwalk for the very first time.

It was announced at a meeting of a local camera club and the club president said "Bring your camera and bring your tripod".

This will be my first time at Nature View Park in the town of Amherst, NY.

My (first and only so far) lens is the Canon EF-S18-135mm F3.5-5.6 IS.

I hope to get some pictures I think are good enough for club projected image competition (max 1024 by 768 pixels).

I will be shooting RAW mode to get the best picture quality.

I see in my manual (yes, I DO read the manual) that I have 3 choices for autofocus mode:

One Shot for still subjects;

AI Servo for moving subjects;

AI Focus which automatically switches from One Shot to AI Servo if the subject starts moving.

It seems to me that AI focus would be the best choice to cover all possibilities. I would appreciate forum members sharing their experiences to help me decide which autofocus setting would be the best choice.

I plan on trying both Shutter Priority and Aperture Priority modes and would also appreciate forum member input on this.

Thank you.
junkman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2011, 10:17 PM   #2

I don't know if it would switch quickly enough from al servo to single shot mode, but others may have the answer to this. It if were me I would set it on al servo and change the mode to one shot when appropriate. If it's like my 1D, its a 2 second effort to change for your still shots.