Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 9, 2004, 12:10 AM   #1

i accidentally posted this in thecanondigital camera forum and someonewas nice enough to point me to this forum.mydilemma is that istill can't decide which to get. so far i've heard good reviews for both yet i'm still stuck someone help me out. digital rebel owners, how's your experience been? any problems? any thoughts on the cybershot? thanks in advance!
photomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 9, 2004, 6:38 AM   #2

You really are comparing apples and oranges here, like saying do I want an SUV or do I want a convertable. Two different type of cameras, each having a different strength. What type of photography are you looking to do?

I love my Rebel, but I've been shooting 35mm SLR photography for 20+ years so my experiences will differ from someone who is new to photography. The Rebel is a great camera. The biggest problem that I see others having with the Rebel relate to flash photography and focus issues. Both of these are generally related to operation of the camera more than design flaws. Once the person grasps the fundamentals of the cameras operating modes and features and understands when to apply them, these issues tend to go away.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2004, 7:36 AM   #3

Can't comment on the Rebel as I use a Nikon D70, but the review I saw of the Sony (in the UK)absolutely slaughetered itfor image quality, particularly purple fringing. (I saw this inAmateur Photographermagazine, though I can't see its review onhttp://www.amateurphotographer.com/ now)

Also i believe all the 8mp SLR-style models are quite noisy, due to the number of pixels crammed on to the small CCD, though the Sony is cheaper and comes with a bigger focal length lens.

I'd strive for a DSLR (whichever one you go for) if you possibly can.

jimbojetset is offline   Reply With Quote