Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 29, 2005, 2:13 AM   #1

To start: I am primarily a live music photographer. Tonight I took the 20D out for a test run to a show. The venue wasn't particularly dark so I was surprised when the camera kept locking up when trying to find focus. It took several seconds (like 2-3 full seconds) for it to locate a point at which to focus, and, to top it off, most of the shots were still soft. (I must note that this venue was an art space with no fancy colored lights. However, the space did have consistent bright tungsten lighing on the band at all times. There seemed to me to be sufficient light.)

I tried shifting the focusing point to the dead center only - the camera was still confused. I thought AF technology had come along way in recent years, especially with Canon cameras(?).

(I ended up shooting with my good old A-1 (as I have done for many years), relying on hyper-focal distance to ensure my photos come out sharp.)

Later that night at home I tested it again in my basement which is slightly dim, but not dark. Still the focus was acting very strangly, going in and out and inhibiting the firing of the shutter. Is this normal??? Has anyone else experienced the 20D's inability to cope with slightly lower lighting situations (I can't even say LOW or DARK lighting situations, because that would be inaccurate)???

I was extremely dissapointed with the 20D's performance tonight and hope there is something wrong with mine. If it's broken, then I can at least get a properly working one rather than be stuck with this one.