Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 29, 2005, 3:26 PM   #1

Went to Bel-Air Camera and Samy's today and looked at the 20D

Very nice unit, BUT, the lenses are what is amazing.

It was the first time I tried the IS lenses and they are fantastic, I could not believe how still I was at 200 and at 300 MM.

The only thing I don't care for is that the camera and lenses are quite big and heavy (the price you pay I quess for a DSLR).

I also looked at the Fuji S3 and that unit fit my hands well, and has a loyal following, and has many good points, even though it is slow on its burst rate.

The little Pentax istD was a big surprise, that little thing felt like a tank, it was VERY well built.

So here I am waiting for PMA to see what is new !!

For me, a istD or a upgrade of the istD (if that will happen at PMA) would probably be it. It is small and with a couple of high grade lenses it would fill my needs. I'm not a pro, just want nice images without carrying around 50 lbs of stuff, (But those Canon lenses are hard to beat !!!!!!!).

wll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 29, 2005, 6:45 PM   #2

In the SLR (or DSLR) world, the camera body is secondary. Most vererans of this environment carry their lenses over to the next camera body. Switching to another manufacturer is expensive because Nikon lenses, or Canon lenses don't fit the other guy's cameras or vice-versa nor do anybody else's.

Most DSLR users carry their lenses over to the next camera body. The big bucks in this business are in lenses. Good quality lenses keep their value, but cheap ones don't. Some serious users change lenses more often than Hollywood stars do wives..