Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Feb 18, 2005, 7:57 AM   #1

I'm not a professional photographer but a hobbyist. I take a lot of pictures with standard consumer digital cameras and want to get into SLRs. My brother let me borrow his Olympus E-1 for a while and I was amazed at the quality of the pictures and the ease of working with SLR. I admit that I will be exploring the manual modes slowly and will probably start with shooting in mostly automatic mode. My shooting involves the usual: family vacations, indoor, outdoor parties, outdoor architecture when going to Europe, outdoor landscape when going somewhere exotic. I will do only minimum number of enlargement prints.

I was about to purchase the 20D with EF-S 17-85 F4-5.6 IS USM camera kit, but started thinking about the new Rebel XT with EF 24-70 F2.8L USM. Both combinations would cost about $2000. I don't want to spend anything beyond that, except about $500 for accessories like UV filter, memory card, bag, lens hood, etc. Later on I may add ultra wide lens and large telephoto.

I'm decided to get one of these combinations, and wanted to hear your opinion. I went to couple of local stores and played around with both lenses on 20D. The 17-85 combo felt terrific. Very light and compact. The 24-70 was more intimidating, but was smaller and lighter than I expected, but not as convenient as 17-85. I think I could live with the 24-70 if the difference in quality was substantial. Both lenses seemed to focus very fast, but there's not much serious testing you can do in the store.

My main thoughts are, is the picture quality taken with 24-70 significantly better than 17-85. If yes, does it make sense to combine 24-70 with Rebel XT? This would allow me to purchase extremely good lens, with decent SLR camera that can be upgraded few years down the road.