Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Mar 31, 2005, 11:19 PM   #1

both cost about the same, however i dont know which will get me the best quality photos.

Canon 300d/ Digital Rebel
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f-4.0-5.6 IS USM

Canon 350d/ Digital Rebel XT
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6

any ideas or suggestions? The camera will mainly be used for b-days, night indoor, light sports, lanscapes. Im not a pro, i just want something which i can leave on the camera and use in any situation.
twofruitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 31, 2005, 11:37 PM   #2
Super Moderator

my suggestion is to go ahead and get the 350d with the stock lens.. the camera is superior in almost every fashion.. better resolution, lower noise, faster startup time, faster file transfer, larger buffer, selectable AF, etc.. the stock 18-55 lens is quite good for the price and should be a good start for you..

if you decide you need a better lens in the future, save up some money and get one.. such as the 17-85 you spoke of, or a sigma 24-60 2.8, etc.. you will a superior camera to attach it to..

if you decide you need more light capabilities now and dont want to spend much more money, you can always pick up a 50mm f1.8 for less than 100$$

Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2005, 12:02 AM   #3