Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 22, 2005, 2:55 PM   #1

I am new to the digital SLR market. I like the feel of the 300D much better than the XT, and am not sure whether I need all the bells and whistles of the XT. My questions are as follows:

1. For a very average amature, who wants to use the camera for vacation and kid photos, (but very much likes the feels and fun of a DLSR over P&S), will the 300D give me everything I'll need?

2. What are the advantages of an XT that an average photographer will really notice?

3. What exactly is firmware (sorry for the incredibly stupid question) and what can I do with my 300D through upgraded firmware (and how do I figure out how to do that)?

4. I have an older Tamron 28-200 lens for my older Canon EOS ELan IIe. Can I use that on a Rebel 300D? Assuming I don't want to carry around multiple lenses on an extended trip I'm about to take, what lens(es) would folks stronly recommend. (If you could only take one lens, and if you could take two)?
JOJOJAMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 22, 2005, 4:04 PM   #2

I'm also new to the SLR world; I got the XT like 2 weeks ago.
As anyone could tell you, there are 3 parts to a good picture: Body, Lens, and the User. I think the 300D is up for your needs. But when you say, "everything," it's a bit tough to justify why it's a good choice. Assuming that most of your pictures are variations of portraits (family) or landscape (vacation), then I don't think there's any real reason to worry about the body.

The main reason I chose the 350D over the 300D was speed. The 350 is much faster than the 300D. An example is start up time. 2 seconds for the 300D versus 0.2 seconds for the 350D. You'll also notice it if you ever take burst shots.