Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 19, 2005, 1:32 AM   #1

hi and happy fathers day to everyone! im getting my rebel xt in 2 weeks and would like to ask some suggestions on the necessary items i should include during my purchase. i am a novice and would like to explore the camera's functions slowly, systematically and surely. i intend to use it for macro, portraits, products, travel. sports is also on my list but i understand lenses for fast moving activities are expensive.

1)since im getting the lens kit, a friend suggested that i also get a 50mm f1.8 lens. are there other lens to consider?

2)is 512mb memory enough for the meantime?

3)how about flash units? battery grips, etc?

4)im joining some workshops also but are there good books out there?

5)any other suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated

ill keep you all posted on my progress.

thank you very much for your replies!

tf2985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 19, 2005, 9:52 AM   #2

Welcome to the forum. Here are some suggestions from my experience (although everyone's is different):

1. My personal advice is to just stick with a single lense for a while. Find out given YOUR common shooting where the kit lense falls short. Then you can buy the next lense that's right for you. The 50mm 1.8 is a great and inexpensive lense but I still stick by my advice that you use just one lense for a couple months so you don't end up with a lense that just sits unused in your bag.