Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 21, 2005, 1:29 PM   #1

I am just starting out with my Canon Rebel XT. I love the camera.....but for the life of me I cannot take a decent outdoors shot. I took a few of my daughter in her pool this morning, but they are just not very good. They actually look sort of grainy. Okay, dont laugh when you see the photos....I'm just beginning! But do you have any suggestions? These are only in auto mode. Is there any way to get the flash to do off in auto mode even when its bright outside?

ChristusG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 21, 2005, 2:55 PM   #2

Well, it's not your daughter's fault. She's absolutely gorgeous! And I really don't see any graininess in the pics. My only comment is that the composition needs some improvement. There's a lot of busy stuff in the background that may be caused by the way you're shooting. Are you in Automatic Mode? I'm a relatively newbie also but what I've found really improves a picture is to shoot in AV or Appeture Priority mode so that you can control the depth of field. If you look at pictures that others submit and see the specifics such as the lens settings, etc. you'll probably find that in most cases they were shot in AV mode. Your pictures look good as far as focus goes. And the color saturation is really good too. Experiment with the AV mode. Take several shots one after the other of the same subject changing the F-Stop by one value each time. And try to control the objects in the background and avoid verticals and other things that will distract from your subject. You'll see a real difference.

JimWWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2005, 3:52 PM   #3

Hum F14 @ 1/400'th second, lots of DOF at the 40mm and 25mm lens focal lengths you used and fast enough to stop most sleeping kids :-)