Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 27, 2005, 7:32 AM   #1

Posted: Wed Jul 27th, 2005 01:25 pm
Edit Quote Reply
I am reading about this problem everywhere, and though i hate to say it as i own a 20D, they must have a design fault or at the very least bad production standards. I have been a pro photographer for years for a music magazine, working under demanding low light conditions, we are given 3 songs to get our shots often without flash.
I used to work on Nikon F100s and Fuji 400 transparency film. I would use everything from fast pro primes and zooms wide open to cheaper prosumer zoom lenses. I know for a fact that over 95% of my shots were razor sharp, if they weren't i'd never work again. I have not changed, only my system has from Nikon film to Canon digital which i did as often the speed of digital was being demanded by my clients and canons digital high iso noise was far better than nikons at that time. Dont get me wrong, i love digital and want to embrace it, but there are problems.
Over the past past few years I've shot on Canon 1Vs , and still own an Eos 3, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 50f1.4, 20F2.8. I have often hired Eos 1D's mk 1&2, and have found their focusing systems to be very good. The 1D mk2 with a 70 - 200 wide open is exceptional! but its not the same across the board. I bought a 20D to play with last year, as i will wait until a 12mp 1D mk3 arrives, on paper it looks a bargain. In reality its erratic and unreliable, i am on my third one, the first 1 was fine at first then after 6000 shots just stopped focussing altogether, the second hunted continually and my current 1 has just started to miss focus at 12ft away!.
I dont even want to go into discussions of accepted digital image quality, camera handling techniques etc. I know what to expect with digital and its differencies to film. When i use an Eos 3 or 1D with my lenses, they are sharp, when i use them on my 20D they are not.