Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 19, 2006, 6:02 PM   #1

I just recently checked up on my post from a month or two ago wherein I asked your advice on what system I should put together for my home computing in general and PSing of high-resolution photos specificallyI guess I shouldn't be surprised at the lively debate that post sparked, much of it Mac vs PC-related but it wasn't limited to that.

To recap, I'm a computer novice (I thought about wording that: "I am not one of you"). What I am is a surfing photographer (digital) whohas beenmaking due with about a 5 year-old system with an Athlon 1100 mhz processor and 256k of RAM. (I think I just used all my computer lingo in that one sentence.) All I know is that my computer works okay but is quite slow at times. I edit LOTS of photos, sometimes a hundred or more each day depending on how good the surf has been. I haven't ever shot in RAW mode with my 20D because according to the pamphlet my system doesn't meet the minimum requirements. Overall, I think I'm just ready for an upgrade.

A lot of you mentioned budget. IAM on a budget, yes. I want to stay in the $1000 range. By the way, let's forget Macs and just talk PCs. Nothing against Apple -I drool over that all-in-one design whenever I see one in a store - but I think I'll keep it simple and stick with a PC.