Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Sep 13, 2006, 12:05 AM   #1

I am very new to SLR digital photography, but have read hundreds of comments on this forum and others during the past two weeks. Yesterday I ordered from B&H the $799, 10 MP Cannon XTi, i.e. 400D, along with the inexpensive Cannon F1.8 lens, and intend to order the Cannon 75-300 F4.5 lens when it becomes available – a total of approx. $1,440.

Now for my question: Assuming that 85% of my photos will be of birds and wildlife and a budget of less than $2,000, would you recommend the purchase of the following kit items from BuyDig? In particular, in your opinion are the 2 Tamron lenses of sufficient IQ to beuseful or, instead, to be merely expensive paper weights?

1. Sandisk 2 GB Compact Flash Memory Card

2. Sakar 21-IN-1 USB 2.0 Card Reader

3. Tamron 28-80mm F/3.5-5.6 Aspherical For Canon EOS, WIth 6-Year USA Warranty

4. Tamron 75-300mm F/4-5.6 LD FS=62 For Canon, WIth 6-Year USA Warranty

5. Sakar 800mAh Replacement Battery for Canon NB-2L

6. Digital Concepts 58mm Multicoated UV Protective Filter

7. Digital Concepts 62mm Multicoated UV Protective Filter

8. DigPro Deluxe SLR Holster Case

9. Digital Camera and Camcorder Screen Protectors for LCD's (pack of 12)

10. Sakar 3pc. Lens Cleaning Kit

Regular Low Price:$469.85

Added Savings:$150.85 (32.11%)

Final Price:$319.00

Thank you very much for your help,

R. A. Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 13, 2006, 2:12 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Do I take it that you did not order the 18-55mm kit lens?

So your only photographic choices will be an effective short telephoto 50mm (*1.6=80mm effective) and long telephoto? Seems a bit weird, but if you never want to take a landscape picture or anything of a family gathering I suppose you should be happy enough with your wildlife shots.