Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 24, 2007, 10:28 PM   #1

I am planning to buy a Canon rebel xti camera soon, but I don't know what lense to go for. I am new to SLR and I don't have much knowledge about the lenses. I would like to buy a lense which I can use for both wide angle and telephoto which is not very expensive. I would really appreciate your help. Thanks.
aaalissha is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 25, 2007, 10:41 AM   #2

Hey Alisha...
You didnt mention your budget so I really dont know what lens to recommend...There are bunches out there that will do what your wanting them to do...wide angle/zoom...
Canon brand and off brands...Lots to look at...I will tell you, I have a Canon 28/200mm
lens that takes nice pictures...Its not the best and isn't the worst...The cost on line is about $300.00....With the 1.6 crop factor on the XTi you will have the equivelent of an
"approx 52/320mm lens"...Might not be as wide on the bottom end as you would want but it could be a place to start... :whack:
John at the Beach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2007, 7:51 PM   #3

There is always the EFS 18-55mm kit lens if money is tight.

dr_spock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2007, 9:09 PM   #4

I am planning to go for canon EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM Autofocus Lens. Is it is good one to start with? Also, is there a lot of difference between this and canon EF 28-105mm f/4-5.6 USM Autofocus Lens ? Thanks.
aaalissha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2007, 1:48 AM   #5
Super Moderator

Honestly it's not a good one to start with.

You would be better off with the 18-55 kit lens.

Here is the MTF chart for the lens you are thinking of:

And compare it to the 18-55 kit:

The kit lens is significantly better.