Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jul 3, 2007, 5:02 PM   #1

thinking of getting anXTI (a few other choices too) but I need to try and figure out my best route on lenses.

Not pro here, not even amateur... complete newbie here as in it's been 20 years since I've used a non point and shoot camera

I need:

the usual family vacation stuff - need to start here

landscapes - will have some great opportunities when I'm on vacation in 2 weeks

Indoor basketball, outdoor soccer, football, baseball - can wait until later to buy a lens(es) but I definitely will need an option(s)

I can't do it all at once I know, a $1500 budget including the body... so where do I start?
chepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 4, 2007, 4:25 AM   #2
Super Moderator

It won't matter what body you end up with as lens options are going to be similar.

I would start with just getting your walk around lens (an everyday lens that will cover holiday, landscape, family etc). You want to look in the region of 17mm wide and 70mm long as this is going to give similar results to a 28-105 lens in 35mm which was a good standard for general work.

There are options from different manufacturers here is a list to look atand if you go to http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/index.htmlyou will find reviews on them.

Canon 17-85mm USM IS

Canon 17-55mm f2.8 USM IS (this will blow your budget)

Sigma 17-70mm DC

Tamron 17-50mm f2.8

You can also go for more extreme zoom ranges and the new Tamron 18-250 is getting pretty good reviews.

When it comes to sports you are going to need to put a lot of money in.

Outdoors for the field sports you are going to want 300mm+ and f4 or brighter so options are

Canon/Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 with 1.4x teleconverter

Sigma 100-300mm f4 (lovely lens and really sharp)

Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 used by a lot of us here who shoot field sports

Canon 300mm f2.8 or f4