Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jan 29, 2008, 6:15 PM   #1

I'm still fairly new in DSLR photography but feel like I have progressed as far as my Tamron lenses will allow me. I'm shooting with a Canon Rebel XTi with the Opteka Battery Grip that will probably turn over to my girlfriend if I decide to pick up the 40D.

I've been looking steadily at the Sigma 10-20mm, Canon 17-40L, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, Canon 24-70 f2.8L, and Canon 70-200 f2.8L IS. I'm also looking at possibly getting the 40D in the near future. All of these purchases will be staggered of course. My girlfriend would put me 6 feet down if I got them all at once. :-) I would like to get most of this before the Fall trip to Yellowstone though

The reason for such a wide variety of lenses is because I do a lot of rail photography including volunteering at a railroad museum in Mineral, Washington. I like the idea of the Ultra-Wide to capture those tight in-cab experiences or those up close in your face images of the locomotive. I also take photos of friends and family as well and wouldn't mind myself dipping my feet into the amatuer modeling photography or even just school photography. I don't or rather can't see myself doing weddings or anything like that. I also like to shoot at concerts and landscapes.

To get a good feel for what I like doing, I have photos over on flickr.com ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/brian_macster )

The 17-40L is one I've tossed around. I guess you would call this my general purpose walk around lens but justifying it's use is the most difficult aspect since I think I would use the 24-70 more often but the ability to go wide is something I also would cherish without swapping lenses all the time. (:idea: 17-70mm f2.8L ...Canon, you listening??)