Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Sep 21, 2003, 8:39 AM   #1
Default Acceptable results from Canon 17-40mm?

Hello, I am an art teacher at a school in England. Our headmaster recently authorized us to use some of the school funds to buy a Canon EOS-10D and two lenses. I have just bought the camera yesterday, and I am testing it out now.

I would appreciate some help on these two images, as I have only used an Olympus 5050 before.

This <a href="http://members.aol.com/Abjknight/focus-blur.jpg">picture</a> below - am I right in thinking this is blurred rather than out of focus? It was taken at 1:4 in quite low light.

Is this next <a href="http://members.aol.com/Abjknight/acceptable.jpg">picture</a> acceptable as a straight out of the camera picture from a 10D and 17-40mm lens? (ISO 100, f5.6, 1/90s. Parameters = contrast 1, sharpness 2, saturation 0, color tone 0). Does it just need sharpening?

Many thanks in advance,

JHKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 21, 2003, 9:42 AM   #2

You are correct, the first picture is blury. Mostion blur, I would say.

I loaded the second into photoshop and played with it a bit. It sharpened up ok. I would say it isn't the most sharp picture on the planet. Was the picture taken on a tripod?

I noticed that you added sharpness and contrast in camera. I would suggest against doing that. Your computer is much more powerful than the camera. It can use more advanced algorithms to sharpen and improve contrast. I would leave them at 0 and do the work in photoshop elements (which comes with the camera in the US, I assume it does in the UK too.)