Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jun 27, 2008, 4:06 PM   #1

Bought a canon xsi with the 18/55 lens kit to try. I am new to DSLR and the quality and sharpnessof the lens kit looks great to me in comparison with the point and shoot cameras that I've had. I am thinking about taking back the lens kit and getting a more versatile lens. So taking in mind that the 18-55 seems good to me in terms of sharpness and quality...I am looking for a lens which provides more zoom capabilities. Right now, I am not wanting to be constantly changing lens (still concerned over the dust getting in) and also, I really don't want to lug around a camera bag with a bunch of lenses (did that in my younger days with my slr). I bought the canon xsi becuz I really like the weight. I was comparing (and still am) the canon with the Sony a300, but I really prefer the light weight canon. I was in a car accident and I find that a heavy camera makes my hands tired and sore after a short while. I shoot in aperture/shutter priority mostly, but also use programmed mode too..so I want the lens to be able to use the autofocus as well as manual mode, I want to be able to zoom in and I want the IS feature. I was considering the EF-S 17-85 USM IS or the EF 28-135 USM IS. I was interested in the Sigma or Tamron18-200 but I am not sure how a non-canon lens would work..would the autofocus and lens stablizer work or would it work in manual only..? Also worried about the weight of the 18-200. The Canon -L lenses (professional) are really too expensive for me. I want a good carry-around lens that I can use indoor and outdoor. Has anyone used these lenses and if so, what is your opinion and recommendation? Also, does the canon xsi use just EF -S lenses or can they use just EF ?

Thanks for any advice that you can give!!
CAnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 2, 2008, 6:08 AM   #2