Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 27, 2009, 9:17 AM   #1

Default New to SLR - Zoom vs. Telephoto Zoom

Hello Everyone,

I am quite new to the SLR scene and I was wondering what the difference between Zoom vs. Telephoto Zoom is. I know telephoto has one focal length???? and zoom has many???? I think thats correct.

Can someone explain the difference. Which is better? Is it better to go with a telephoto only? Or does it matter what I will be shooting.

Thank you very much.
mlcinema is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2009, 1:22 PM   #2
Super Moderator

OK, lets clear up the confusion here.

Zoom refers to any lens of any size that has the ability to 'zoom' between focal lengths.

You then have prime, or fixed focal length lenses. These are usually higher optical quality then a zoom lens as they are not so complicated but the downside is you need more of them to cover shooting needs.

Telephoto is in reference to the length of a lens. Telephoto being long. I'm not sure where telephoto would officially start but I generally think of it as anything over 60mm. You also have standard lenses which I think of as 40, 50, 60mm and then wide is anything wider than this.

So a telephoto zoom would be something like a 70-200mm.

Hope that helps.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2009, 9:29 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1616 View Post
...You also have standard lenses which I think of as 40, 50, 60mm ...
This was correct back a quarter century ago in the old film days. These days things are different.