Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Sep 21, 2009, 8:27 AM   #1
Default My Experience with Canon 100-400mm L

Okay here is a follow up on my first venture in renting a lens. Ordered through lensrentals.com and it shipped the next day and arrived on day three I believe. Still have until this Friday to ship it back.

I am no expert and there is no technical analysis here I just wanted to share my experience.

Used it some the first Saturday for Baseball and Soccer. In our little league baseball fields we have dreadful looking backstops so the lower aperture did not really hurt the images much compared to the 70-200mm f/2.8. But the reach is so much better. I really enjoyed the 300 to 400 range. The push/pull zooming is really different and sometimes I go the wrong way and I find it hard to adjust the tension without adjusting the manual focus ring but I used autofocus the whole time so that was no issue.

On the soccer field I found it more difficult to use because at the longer ranges there always seemed to be kids in the way. But when I did get a clear shot and they filled the frame the results were okay. Here is where the 4.5-5.6 was not as good as the 2.8 (or f/4 with 1.4x) as the background were more distracting as parents are lined around the field a good distance from the players.

Then on Saturday I got to photograph youth football for the first time. Since it was the local league and I know the guys in charge I was able to get up close to the field. Here the 300-400 really pays off. I realized my regular lens would be okay when they were close and I could move with them but I got better angles to the players shooting further away down the side lines or even behind the end zone.