Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 21, 2010, 9:50 PM   #1
Default Sigma 18-200mm vs. Canon EF 24-105mm

I'm looking at these two lenses:

Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 DC AF OS (Optical Stabilizer) Zoom Lens for Canon Digital SLR

Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens for Canon EOS SLR Cameras

This will be for a Canon EOS Rebel T2i (already purchased)

There seems to be a tremendous amount of knowledge on Steve's forums; I've enjoyed viewing your opinons!

I know the difference in the price of these two lenses, and there is no perfect "all around lense", let's eliminate that.

I'm mostly looking for outdoors/landscape pictures, everything else is a plus.

I'm a beginner; taking a class on Saturday to get more familiar with the camera, and I'm not looking to become a professional photographer; just want to get above the next step of "point & shoot".

I know I'm not going to see a "bee on a flower" with this lens; (macro questions will come later!)

Appreciate your opinions (I know they may differenciate tremendously, but that's OK)

Thanks for your help!

jjs1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 21, 2010, 11:27 PM   #2

I would think the obvious answer is the Canon 24-105. The IQ is much better it's a constant aperture and better build. I have the Sigma 18-200/OS It's a good lens. But I typically use it for vacation. The word on the Sigma is good at the wide and tele end. The FL between is suspect. I don't have the same sentiment.
Is it possible you can take your camera to the camera shop and test both lenses, bring home the memory card and view the images and decide from there.

If you want a super zoom without IS the Tamron 28-300 is very sharp from the samples I've seen

here is a discussion about the Tamron on DP review

Last edited by garman; Apr 21, 2010 at 11:30 PM.
garman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2010, 4:48 AM   #3
Super Moderator