Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Dec 14, 2003, 2:03 AM   #1
Default Diff between $100-$500 lenses with $1000 lenses and up

I'm new to SLRS and have been searching for good lenses at $500 and below. I have gotten the impression though that to get the best out my new camera (Digital Rebel)--aside from becoming a better amateur photographer--is to step up to lenses that cost $1000 or higher. (Professional photographer friends have said so. Shutterbug's 12/03 Digital Rebel review declared "this camera positively explodes when coupled to some really good lenses.")

So my questions are: are the differences that notable? What are great lenses for the price. I figure two lenses--a wide angle and a telefoto (up to 300mm) would be good enough for me. Someone recommended the EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM as a nice general purpose lense. Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.
fsm2i is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 14, 2003, 9:24 AM   #2

It is true that better glass will give better results in most cases. For a good under $500 general purpose lens that gives very good results, look at the Tamron 28-70 F/2.8 XR Di lens.

Try these links for some comments:

Regardless of which lenses you decide to purchase, you can achieve your best results by studying your cameras exposure modes and reading as much as you can about exposure. My other advice for tack sharp photos is USE A TRIPOD whenever feasible.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2003, 9:41 AM   #3

There are a lot of differences between the cheap and more expensive lenses in theory. Many you probably won't notice, some you might. It all depends on how much of a perfectionist you are... how picky you are. It also depends on how you'll use it.

The build quality is better on the more expensive lenses. Some are even waterproof. The cheaper lenses won't be.