Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jan 15, 2011, 9:30 AM   #1
Default Wedding Bells, Err, Lenses...

So the in-laws booked a friend-of-the-family photog to shoot my nefew's wedding, but it fell through so I'm next.

I'm studying wedding poses, but I could use some advice on the kit.

I have:
Canon T2i
Canon 18-55mm 3.5-5.6
Canon 50mm 1.8
Tamron SP70-300
Canon 430 EXII

OK, stop laughing. I've made it clear to the in-laws that I'm not replacing a $2k wedding photog, I'm simply trying to capture a few shots they can use.

With that in mind, I find that the 18-55mm lens is sharp across it's focal range http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/zproducts/canon18-55f35-56is/1blur-t.gif , but isn't the fastest lens around. At the same time, a lot of wedding photos I see are shot at f5.6. The 17-55 only gains a little light wide open, so should I look for a prime somewhere in that range to speed it up? The 50mm 1.8 is not that lens, unless I'm shooting portraits- very soft at the corners until f2.8. http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/zproducts/canon50f18/1blur-t.gif.

The 430 EXII has some reach to it. I'd shoot it with an off-camera mount. I have a YN460 II on it's way, intended to blow out white backgrounds for my routine annual portrait shots at a fundraiser.

Please offer suggestions to tweak this kit (overhaul is not an option right now). Thanks!
iowa_jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 15, 2011, 5:19 PM   #2