Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jan 31, 2012, 7:33 AM   #1
Default New lenses probably 24-70 L or 50mm or something else - need advice

Hello everyone,

I just bough a new Canon 60D and got 2 lenses with it
EF-S 18-55mm IS (came with the camera)
18-200 IS (bough it)

I am thinking on buying more lenses specially thinking on low light scenaries like parties, holiday portraits with nice background and landscaping.
(looking to buy if necesary 1-3 more lenses)

I am conciderng the following lenses (but open to suggestions):

I was thinking on buying the Canon 24-70 f/2.8 L but then i also read that the sigma performs just almost as good as the canon. so probably for the price tag i would concider the stigma as i am not a profecional and a MINIMAL difference will not get in my nevers.

and then i was also thinking on the Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM for nice portraits and parties when the ligh is low and will allow me not to use a flash, giving a more natural look.
also another question, what the difference between the 50mm f/1.4 and the 1.8?????????????

Now my question is more about if is worth to spend the money in those 2 lenses given the lenses that i already have or concider other lenses for my requirements?

i am looking to buy,if necesary , 1-3 more lenses to give me AMAZING IQ when needed. since i know that what i have now is a pretty standar kit

Specially i think i want a great lens for house parties that the light is low.
and then another lense that is great to get those amazing holiday pics.

i want high IQ

what you guys think?

thurft is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 31, 2012, 9:39 AM   #2

For parties, you have to be careful. My advice is to get a good external bounce-able flash. There are a couple reasons:
1) you may find that light levels just aren't enough at f2.8 to freeze subject motion