Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 30, 2012, 10:56 AM   #1
Default Lens for Time Lapse

Hi folks,

I am planning to shoot a time lapse of the galactic center of the milky way and was wondering which lens I should use.
I have a T2i and I will be renting a lens for this shoot.
I was initially thinking of Canon 10-22 but its max aperture is f/3.5.
Although I have never used a fisheye before, I was looking at sigma 8mm @ f/3.5 or Sigma 4.5mm @ f/2.8.
I wouldn't want to go above 1600 on ISO and no more than 30 sec exposure (to avoid pill shaped stars), therefore I think f/2.8 would be better.
Unfortunately, there aren't many Ultra wide lenses than can go to f/2.8.

Edit: Just found out about Tokina 11-16mm @ f/2.8

Any help will be really appreciated.

Last edited by riteshbafna; Apr 30, 2012 at 11:01 AM.
riteshbafna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 30, 2012, 5:17 PM   #2

The Tokina,apparently,is quite highly regarded...
When you get round to completing your project, maybe you could post it here at Steve's... please...?
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 7:34 PM   #3

I bought the Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 lens, which I really like. It's sharp, contrasty, has great build quality and was almost half the price of the Canon 10-22mm USM. I have used my Sigma for some time-lapse photos, including night time ones - and really like it. But then again I don't do photos of stars per se.

As I don't need a large aperture, I usually use my Sigma ultrawide zoom lens between wide open and f10. So, for your purposes, yes, the Tokina is regarded as a very good, sharp ultrawide zoom, and particularly useful if you need that f2.8!

I agree with Simon40... please do post your attempts here in Steve's for us to see and comment on.

pj1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 8:30 AM   #4