Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 20, 2005, 7:44 PM   #1

I currently own the following equipment (1 month):

Canon 20D
Canon EF-S 10-22mm F3.5-4.5 USM
Canon EF-S 17-85mm F4-5.6 IS USM
Canon EF 50mm F1.8 II
Canon 580EX

I'm now looking for a telephoto zoom lens. When talking to my local camera store rep, he referred me to the http://www.Photozone.de web site. Looking at the lens rating on this web site, I noticed that lenses do not have the same rating when comparing film and digital. For example, for film the Canon EF 70-200 F2.8L USM rates as the best lens (when listing lenses by performance) but for digital (APS-C DSLR) the Canon EF 70-200mm F4.0L USM rates as the best lens.
Why is there a difference between film and digital? :?
agiaccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 21, 2005, 4:40 AM   #2

I'm just learning about DSLRs (getting my first one in a fortnight). From what I understand though the difference is due to the difference in size between exposed film and an exposed sensor (film is larger than a CMOS sensor). So for a lens to be good is should have no distortions in the corners of the picture but a digital sensor uses a smaller area so a "lesser" quality lens would work because the distortions should be outside the corners of the digital sensor (while the same lens on a film SLR would show up). Probably also an additional factor also related is that the lesser surface area could mean the lens keeps a smaller f stop at all ranges with (or for longer) than a film back would allow.

pelmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2005, 11:40 AM   #3

pelmen wrote:
Quote:
Probably also an additional factor also related is that the lesser surface area could mean the lens keeps a smaller f stop at all ranges with (or for longer) than a film back would allow.