Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jul 13, 2005, 12:26 AM   #1

I'm an amateur surfing photographer, researching and preparing to upgrade to some semi-pro equipment. I'm stuck on telephoto lenses.

I shoot from the beach, so almost always at some distance (100-200 feet)

I am planning to get a Canon 20d.

While I would love to get a 500 or 600 prime lens, there isn't any way I can afford it. I need a much more affordable alternative. Someone suggested the newish Sigma 50-500mm F4-6.3 telephoto zoom lens. I like the price very much (around $900) and have read some glowing reviews. But I still want to hear more opinions before giving it a try.

Anyone with an opinion of this lens, or any opinion on my situation really, please respond. Thanks very much.

Rob K is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2005, 12:30 AM   #2

Fantastic lens, nothing else like it that gives you 10x zoom and this kind of quality (considering it's 10x zoom) and at this price. The "Bigma" is a Sigma favorite and is suited to exactly what you want to do. For example, see this link:

Other good choices might be the 100-400L or 80-400EX, but this new Bigma is a serious option. Best wishes, and see my site for some test shots:

fstopjojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2005, 1:03 PM   #3

I've had a Bigma for a year and a half. One of the reviews I read that helped me decide was by a surfer photographer who bought it so that he could zoom back for context images to go with his closeups. Here are some thoughts. I don't shoot surfers, though.