Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Sep 20, 2005, 3:00 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 70

Dumb question:

How important is it to use a teleconverter f(1.4x or 2x) from the same manufacturer as the lens?

Are there problems with using a Sigma 1.4X TC with a Canon 70-200 f4L, for example?

I'm thinking of picking up a Sigma 1.4x TC to go with a new Sigma lens that I have on order, but it would also be useful for several of the Canon lenses that I already own.


mgipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2005, 3:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
PeterP's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,396

So long as the Canon lenses are capable of using the Canon teleconverter they can also use the Sigma teleconverter.

Except for the color(Canon White/Sigma Black) there should be no problems using the Sigma 1.4x tc on the Canon 70-200 F4 L

It does not work the other way round, as far as I know only the Sigma 120-300 F2.8 EX can mount the Canon teleconverters :roll:.

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2005, 8:39 AM   #3
Senior Member
polarwasp's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 167

Flying Peter,

any thoughts/experience with Kenko teleconverter?
polarwasp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2005, 11:33 AM   #4
Senior Member
NHL's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 39.18776, -77.311353333333
Posts: 11,331

The Sigma's are APO...

... with others generic TC at least check for the CA
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.