Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jan 17, 2006, 3:09 PM   #1

I am a newbie who has both the Canon 28-135 IS and the Canon 17-85mm IS. I bought the latter lense for the wider angle. As I read various reviews I am confused about which of the lenses would be better for a walk around lense. Avoiding the obvious differences in focal length, does one lense typically produce better quality pictures than another. (I read someplace, I can't remember where, that the 17-85 gives better pictures at an aperature of f8 or smaller. I don't know about a similar quality of the 28-135.)
rndrnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 17, 2006, 6:33 PM   #2

I like the wide angle for walking around. The tele end is nice, but generally you can get a decent crop unless you are looking for birds or other distant shots that the 85 won't get you to. You can't really post process into a wide angle. I am not sure about the difference in quality of the photo's between those two, but I have been very happy with the 17 -85 at most focal lengths and apertures. With DxO optics, the images are even sharper and distortion free...

bigboyhf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2006, 1:33 AM   #3
Super Moderator

Optically both are quite good. Not el-cheapo grade, but not as good as L grade.

The MTF charts suggest that the 17-85 is a little sharper, but the 28-135 is quite respectable.

The choice for walkaround depends on the type of photographs you are likely to take surely?

It very much comes down to personal style and focal length range. For me the 28 (*1.6=45) is not wide enough for a walk-around lens.

If you would be prone to using a 50-200 lens as a walkaround on FF then the 28-135 is your best bet. If you would be prone to using a 28-135 on FF then you should go with the 17-85.

Besides - you have both so it's pretty easy for you to decide which is better for you - just try them out for a while!